• Quote of the Week

    "Dreams don't have deadlines in real life." - LL Cool J on Racheal Ray
  • "I think it pisses God off when you walk by the color purple in a field and don't notice it." -Shug Avery (The Color Purple)

Starbucks on a Rainy Day

A few days is enough time to move on.

I mean, I will still think about it of course, but I can no longer write about it because after a while my blog will become a mess of self-pity. I know reflection is OK, but what is not OK is to dwell.

This is what I told myself last night. This morning I woke up like a brand new person. Well, no, I really just woke up like myself without ALL the BAGGAGE. I had to realize that at 24 I still do have my whole life ahead of me. I still DO have all the opportunities I had before I got myself into the mess I was just in for the last 3 years. I’m not the first woman to make a mistake, but I don’t want to be one of the many who can’t move past what I’ve lost. In other words, I’m moving on and rebuilding–my savings account, my career, my esteem and my life.

Having made that up in my mind before my eyes were completely open, I went on to have a good day. I rediscovered all the simple joys of life, all the things that feed my the spirit like:

-talking to my mom in the wee hours of morning as she get ready for work,

-hitting the gym with my best friend and pretending to get a GOOD work out in even though 30 of the *required* 60 minutes was spent talking and gossiping and stifling laughter

-watching cable television and youtubing while tuning out my brother

-eating real food, not Ramen noodles

-having a peace of mind because I know between the three of us (my brother, my mom and me) the rent will get paid on 1st, the light bill on the 7th and groceries will be bought every week

-and enjoying a nice rainy afternoon in Starbucks doing the one thing in the world that brings me absolute peace….

3 Responses

  1. good for you 🙂

  2. sounds like my kind of day! thanks for commenting my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

